2013 Standings and Award Predictions

I should have probably done this prior to Sunday, but here are my standings and wards predictions for the 2013 season:

AL EAST
Blue Jays
Rays*
Red Sox
Yankees
Orioles

AL CENTRAL
Tigers
White Sox
Indians
Royals
Twins

AL WEST
Rangers
Angels*
Athletics
Mariners
Astros

NL EAST
Nationals
Braves*
Phillies
Mets
Marlins

NL CENTRAL
Reds
Cardinals*
Brewers
Pirates
Cubs

NL WEST
Giants
Dodgers
Diamondbacks
Padres
Rockies
*wild card

AL MVP: Edwin Encarnacion – TOR
NL MVP: Bryce Harper – WAS
AL: Cy Young: Josh Johnson – TOR
NL Cy Young: Stephen Strasburg – WAS
AL: Rookie of the Year: Aaron Hicks – MIN
NL Rookie of the Year: Shelby Miller – STL

I am not going to predict playoff results as the sample size invites a considerable amount of randomness, but if you have any comments, feel free to share them.

I look forward to blogging and interacting with you throughout the year.

Happy Baseball

2 comments

  1. InLoveWithTheGame

    Out of curiosity, is your prediction for the jays a personal preference or based on the statistics?

  2. A-Hume

    Largely statistics and what award voters value. I think the Blue Jays will win the division (although the Rays will make it close) and that will help them. MVP voters love inning teams. I think Edwin will show more power than Bautista this year and voters love home runs and RBI.

    Josh Johnson for Cy Young is the one I am least sure about, but we have seen him be a six-WAR arm in the past. However, if one of Verlander, Price, Hernandez or Darvish won it, I wouldn’t be shocked in the least. If anything, I would change my Cy Young prediction to Darvish (not related to last night at all).

Leave a comment